Photojournalism in New York City

On Tuesday, Dec. 22, 2009, I’ll be going to NYC w/ my family for Christmas break to visit my aunt who lives by the Hudson Exchange in New Jersey state.

On Dec. 28, my family leaves the city to return to Dallas while I stay behind with my fiancé to room @ the Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel (map below) from Dec. 29 to Jan. 03:

While I’ll be photographing the city during my stay, I will also be attending the new years festivities in Times Square, hopefully with press credentials to enter meda areas for better journalistic coverage. The event schedule for the evening can be located here and will include appearances from openly gay CNN reporter Anderson Cooper, musical performances by Chris Daughtry and others.

The epicenter of the jubilant event is the world-famous Times Square, a festival of lights, electric banners, and New York iconography in itself.  The main event, the famous New Year’s Eve Ball dropping from the flagpole on top of Number One, Times Square, is such an iconic heralding of the turning of the year that countries around the world tune in to watch NYC’s event any way they can. The symbolic act has been marking the New Year in New York for over a hundred years, and looks to be strong enough to last hundreds more.

