Burning a DVD: Mac Error Message & the Solution

I was in a hurry to burn a photo disk for a client when I received the following error message on my late 2008 MacBook Pro 15″ laptop:

“The disc can’t be burned, because the device failed to calibrate the laser power level for this media.”

After a quick google search, some people were reporting success after gently spraying canned air inside of their optical drive. However, I used a credit card wrapped in eye-glass cloth and gently inserted it into the optical drive, slowly moving it back and forth. The iris is on the left side, about 1″ in. After doing this twice, the error message was gone and my disk was burned and verified just fine. I also was able to burn the disk at the maximum burn speed (8x) without any issues.

