Build your brand with Facebook

As many of you already know, being a professional photographer is no easy task. There is almost always something to be done when you’re managing your own business, and unlike a lot of other careers, you don’t get paid overtime or time-and-a-half, you don’t get vacation days or health insurance, or a lot of other benefits that a lot of other people get to enjoy. But you didn’t become a photographer to make a lot of money, and if you did, you probably chose the wrong career.

So, on the topic of always keeping busy, I spend a lot of my time reading about social networking and SEO optimization. I just recently launched my first ever Facebook Ad campaign which is going really well, and it was a lot easier to do than I thought it would be. When I started the campaign, I had around 500 fans on my Facebook Fan Page. My goal for the 30-day campaign is to grow both my awareness and fan base on my page from 500 to 550; so far so good. I want to share an excellent article that I thought was really helpful in understanding how to make an effective Facebook campaign, which can be found here. For some additional reading, you might also check out this article by BlitzLocal CEO Dennis Yu titled How to Run an Effective Facebook Campaign for $5. BlitzLocal is a portland-based company specializing in internet marketing campaigns that offer a variety of services to their clients. Facebook itself offers extensive information on how to run a campaign here and here, and they can probably answer all of your questions in the FAQ area. Here’s a brief video by Facebook describing the benefits of running a campaign:

In my research for growing visibility and reach, I came across something curious. Rather than buying Facebook Ads, it turns out you can buy Facebook Fans. I’ve never heard of this, has anyone else? Although it’s possible, the information I’ve read suggets that unless you’re only looking to grow numbers (e.g., to make it ‘appear’ that you have many fans), stay away from doing this. There’s two ways companies offer ‘buying’ fans: non-targeted, and targeted – the ‘idea’ being that targeted fans will ‘like’ your page and stay. However, there’s a lot of issues with this. If you take the time to read the terms and conditions of some of the websites that offer these services, for example, they promise to deliver fans over a certain amount of time, say, a month. That’s all well and good, but there’s nothing that says the fans have to stay. The second issue with buying fans is that it’s counterproductive to what you’re trying to accomplish anyway, which is to have a relationship with the people who are actual real fans of your page. I don’t recommend doing it, but the services are available for both Twitter and Facebook. Be careful that doing this doesn’t violate the Terms and Conditions of either social media platform, however. I didn’t read that much into it because I don’t believe it’s ethical, and it’s not going to accomplish my personal goals.

Something else I’ve been working on to keep me busy was updating my Twitter platform. It’s got a fresh, clean, new look to it, so if you have a minute go check it out and drop me a line.

As always I’m interested in hearing your thoughts. Have you ever tried running an ad campaign on Facebook, or do you plan to after reading this post? How do you occupy your time to keep your business ahead of the curve?

