I'm headed to New Jersey!

url

I just got some GREAT news! My request for a tuition grant to NPPA’s Northern Short Course in Elizabeth, NJ has been awarded and I’m registered for the event!

Incase you’re unfamiliar with what the Northern Short Course is, it’s basically a three day event with a variety of workshops for industry professionals and students in the field of visual journalism. From NPPA’s website:

The 32nd Annual Northern Short Course (NSC) will be held March 7 – 9, 2013, in Elizabeth, NJ.  This three-day event is packed with more than two dozen workshops on a variety of topics relevant to professionals and students in the field of visual journalism.  Learn from and network with industry leaders, as they share their work and discuss what makes them successful.  Choose from a variety of workshops and lectures on topics such as business practices, multimedia, lighting, and more.  Sign up for one-on-one portfolio reviews from top photo editors and photographers.  Meet manufacturers and suppliers of photographic equipment, presenting the latest technology available.

My flight and travel plans have been arranged; now all I need to do is secure a rental car and I’ll be set! Lucky for me, my aunt lives in Hoboken, NJ – about a 20 minute drive from Elizabeth – so I’ll be staying with her and, if time allows, might venture into New York City. If ever there was any doubt, being a professional photographer is definitely the coolest career anyone could have. Travel, photographs, interesting people and places; who could say no to that? New Jersey here I come!

