Travel to Moab, Utah: Equipment List and Preparation

Moab, Utah

Moab, Utah

Today I will be landing in Moab, Utah for a five-day photo trip with my friend, Thorpe Griner. We’re meeting up with other photographers as apart of a photo tour called Dirt Cheap Photo Tours (DCPT) run by a photographer named Jeff Clow and his wife. The cost is $599 and sponsors trips to landscape locations via SUV with other passionate photographers. This particular tour is 3 days long, but Thorpe and I will be going early and staying late. While Thorpe has participated in DCPT before, this is my first time – and I’m very eager to see what it will be like.

On this trip, we’ll be shooting 10-12hrs per day, and we’ll be visiting the following locations: Arches National Park, Canyonlands National Park, Professor Valley, and Dead Horse Point State Park.

I wanted to talk about some of the equipment and gear that I’m traveling with on this trip for three reasons: First, I’ve always been interested in what other photographers are traveling with so I can approximate how to do it faster, better, and cheaper. Second, I believe sharing knowledge and information is important, and I think – especially for beginners – knowing what to bring, or at least having a valuable consideration, is a benefit. And third, I valuable input. I’d like to know if you think there’s a better way of doing something, if you’d have done something differently, or any thoughts or opinions you might have.

So, here is some of the gear I’m traveling with. Most – if not all of it – is packed in a Tamrac 7x Expedition (Model 5587) Photo Backpack, both for space and weight distribution reasons.

Camera Body:
Canon EOS 5D Mark III

Camera Lenses:
Canon EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM w/ lens collar
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L USM
Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L USM
Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L USM

Filters:
B+W 10 Stop ND Filter
Lee ND .6 soft grad ND filter
Lee ND .75 soft grad ND filter
Lee ND .9 soft grad ND filter

CF Memory:
3 16GB SanDisk
1 16GB Lexar
8, 4, 2GB cards in Think Tank Memory Card Carrier

Accessories:
Flashlight
Canon Timer Remote Controller TC-80N3
Manfrotto 055XPROB Tripod
Really Right Stuff B2 LLR II: 80mm LR Clamp
Really Right Stuff BGE11-L: L-plate for Canon BG-E11
Really Right Stuff L84: Lens plate for Canon 70-200mm
Cokin Z-Pro Filter Holder & 77mm adapter ring

Computing:
Apple MacBook Pro 15” Retina Mid 2012 – 500GB SSD
WD My Passport 1 TB portable external HDD, USB 3.0
Lexar Pro USB 3.0 CF Card Reader
AT&T Mobile Hotspot Elevate 4G

Food:
Cliff Bars (as we will be staying and traveling in remote areas, early in the morning and late in the evening).

Misc.:
Ear plugs
Advil
Headphones

Also, some other things that make my travel easer are my iPhone apps, especially TripTracker, Kayak, and my favorite weather app: AccuWeather.

Attached are a few images of my equipment. You may notice the additional Think Tank lens pouch on the side of the Tamrac bag. This will be especially useful for fast lens changing, if needed.

Photo Gear, Moab, Utah

Photo Gear, Moab, Utah

Photo Notebook, used for recording my thoughts, settings, planning, etc.

Photo Notebook, used for recording my thoughts, settings, planning, etc.

First thing first, you may have noticed I’m packing two wide-angle (WA) lenses – the 17-40mm and the 16-35mm. (In brief, I’m taking the 17-40mm to accommodate the current filter system I have, and the 16-35mm to get better exposures of stars, and possibly the Milky Way Galaxy, if visible.)

The longer explanation for brining two WA lenses is because in my ‘genius’ wisdom of lens acquisition, I forgot that the 17-40 uses a 77mm thread, and the 16-35mm uses a 82mm thread. What that means is that the Cokin Z Pro Filter Holder wont fit on the new Canon 16-35mm because I stupidly forgot to buy the 82mm filter ring; the piece that connects the Cokin Z Pro Filter Hold to the lens.

But, that’s ok. The Cokin Z Pro, from what I’ve read, is not compatible with the Lee Big Stopper, which is eventually what I want to purchase, anyway, and sell my B+W 10 stop (77mm) circular filter.

I hope you’ve found this post helpful, and as always, feel free to leave comments – I do read and respond to them! You can also check out my Facebook Fan page and my portfolio for more information, tips, and gear review.

