Printing and Standardized 3:2 Aspect Ratios

aspect-title

Recently, as I was creating price lists for my new client portal and print shop, I had to research what the “full-frame”, 3:2 aspect ratios were for the list of ‘standard’ (aka, common) print sizes that my press makes available.

This research is annoying, as I’d often encounter partial lists that were sometimes mixed with other dimensions; 8×10, for example, is not a 3:2 aspect ratio, yet, the author of the article assumed it was, and therefore included it.

So I’ve decided to provide a list of common, “full-frame” 3:2 aspect ratios in the hopes that it will help any photographer looking for a single comprehensive list. There may be one somewhere out there on the internet – and I’m sure there is – but I never did locate it.

Here is the list:

  • 4×6
  • 6×9
  • 8×12
  • 10×15
  • 12×18
  • 16×24
  • 20×30
  • 24×36
  • 30×45
  • 36×54
  • 40×60

This list is significant, to me and other photographers, because it provides the dimensions at which an image can be printed without being cropped, meaning, none of the information recorded at the original time of capture will be cut or removed from the frame if printed in any of the above dimensions.

